Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? It is important to know about events happening around the world, even if it is unlikely that they will affect your daily life. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

It is often believed that knowing about the events happening around the world is significant. Nowadays, the connection between nations is much closer than in the past, and thus make it more critical to know things happened in other part of the world. I strongly agree with the opinion that knowing about the international events plays a crucial part in life. I feel this way with three main reasons, which I'll explore it in the following essay.

First of all, I believe that every single event happens somewhere around the world can have influences on our lives to some extent, even though the event might look minor from the surface. Recent event occurred in Mainland China is an example of this. The massive explosion in a chemistry factory had killed many people's life. This event showed the lacking of solid training programs and insufficient standard operating process in the company. It also raised an attention in my country, where the government legitimated stricter laws on all chemistry factories to prevent labor workers from being harmed. Some insurance companies begin to provide better contracts for companies and employees. This example clearly demonstrates the benefits of understanding the world you are living.

Secondly, knowing events from other parts of the world ensures one's safety. Especially for those who like to travel abroad, it is crucial to know the circumstances such as security issues. For example, if you plan to travel in South America, you have to aware the recent events brought by the conflicts. Since the conflicts between communities are getting tenser, foreign press has warned the travelers not to visit these countries at this moment. If it hadn’t been the notice of the current events in South America, one couldn’t have the ability to protect himself.

Thirdly, learning things that happened outside your country can broaden your horizon. It helps us learn more about political issues, climate change, economy growth, culture changes and even environmental protections. One interesting example is the climate change near the North Pole. The green house effect caused by global warming affected the inhabitants of polar bears. The increasing temperature causes the glaciers to melt and there was a decline on the land where the polar bears live. This phenomenon drew people's attention to environmental protections. As a result, governments in many countries introduced more policies to reduce the pollutions caused by factories. It seems that small event happens elsewhere has nothing to do with your own country, however, as demonstrated in the example, it actually affects people’s life in an unpredictable way.

In conclusion, there is strong evidence that knowing the world is important. It not only makes us a more open-minded person but also helps us develop a better living. It can also save people's life in ways that one might not have expected.