Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

It is more enjoyable to have a job where you work only three days a week for long hours than to have a job where you work five days a week for shorter hours.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

When we talk about how many days that we should spend on working, there will always be two different opinions. On one hand, people may claim that it is better to have more time to rest, so they can be mentally prepared for working. On the other hand, some may argue that work five days a week is better. For me, I believe that a job where I work five days a week for shorter hours is more enjoyable, for the following reasons.

To begin with, human's capacity of attention is limited, which means that it is hard for people to focus on effortful tasks for long period of time. If people work three days a week but for long hours, they probably cannot work efficiently. Take my personal experience for example. I remember that the company that I am working for received tremendous orders last year, due to the outbreak of COVID-19, so I had no choice but to work longer hours. Although it was a special experience for me, since I never worked that long before, I felt that after working for eight hours, I barely focused on the task I was doing. As a result, I spent one and half hour to finish the task that I usually can finish in 30 minutes.

Moreover, if the number of days that we spend on resting are more than we spend on working, I think most people would have problems with getting back to working mode. This is the phenomenon that people like to say after the weekend, Monday blue. I believe that most of the people have experienced this feeling at least one time in the whole life. And this feeling is especially stronger when we just had a long holidays. For instance, every time I go to office after a long holidays, I always see my coworkers are in a mode of zoning out. This is because we are not mentally prepared for working yet, and work only three days a week could exacerbate this feeling.

Despite some people may say that working three days a week could help worker improve their mental health, since they have more time for activities that they are interested in. Nevertheless, if a company was operated by people who work inefficiently, that company may not be able to survive for too long. When a company is bankrupt, jobless could bring more mental issues to employees.

To conclude, though working three days a week sounds desirable, if we think deeply, it actually brings more problems than benefits.