Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

It is more enjoyable to have a job where you work only three days a week for long hours than to have a job where you work five days a week for shorter hours.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Nowadays many companies are trying to plan different programs to increase their worker efficiency and satisfaction; one of the changes that are proposes is working only three days a week for long hours. There is a big debate about this plan. Some people think that it is beneficial for workers, while some others disagree. In my opinion, working long hours a day cannot help neither worker nor their families. I will elaborate on my view in the following essay.

First and foremost, working more than 8 hours has many side-effects for health in a long run. Our body is not designed to work long hours, after working four or five hours we should take a break to refresh our muscles; and our brain abilities such as concentration and programming will be declined after eight hours working. For this reasons, many worker unions all around of the world require companies to give worker at least half an hour rest for who work eight hours a day. My personal experience is a compelling example of this. When I started working in the pharmacy, I chose to work at the evening shift for eight hours. After a while one of our colleagues requested us to change our schedule and working 12 hours a day and only 3 days a week, and we tried that for two months. Although, at first week, working 12 hours a day was not hard, after a months we feel so tired in the workdays. Finally, all of us wanted to come back to previous schedule.

Second, three-day work and 4-day off plan will not provide more benefits for worker at all. Some people thinks that they have more time to spend with their families or to do another task; but the reality proves that it won't work. As an example, my brother is a fireman and works 3 long 24-hour shift in fire station; he says that in other days he should take rest long time to refresh his body and his mind. On the other hand he cannot spend more time with his family because when he is at home his wife and his children are out. Actually they do not have much more time with each other and their work-life balance does not match at all. He says that maybe he should think about choosing another job to work like other ordinary job to make a good balance between his family schedule and himself.

In conclusion, considering all aforementioned details and reasons, I strongly believe that working long hours a day and be off in four hours does not any advantages. This is because, our body and brain get tired after working more than eight hours, and our productivity declines sharply. And because, it will make a discrepancy between family members schedule which has more adverse effects.