Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? it is more important for students to understand concepts and ideas than its for them to learn facts. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

While many people are of the belief that learning facts is more important than understanding ideas, others feel that ideas and concepts are more essential. If I were forced to choose, I definitely think that students should concentrate more on understanding ideas and concepts rather than studying facts. I firmly believe that students should put more focus on the core ideas of a topic due to several reasons, and I will develop these ideas in the subsequent paragraphs.

To begin with, ideas and concepts represent the essential aspects of a particular topic and throws light on the essence of learning. Facts, on the other hand, can be easily memorized by any person who has a good memory. Moreover, facts can be easily found online or in books. However, the proper understanding of a topic can be done efficiently only by the more intellectual students. I have to admit that my opinion on this subject is strongly influenced by my own personal experiences. For example, during my early school days, I was thought by my teachers and parents about the importance of memorizing facts. The various tests conducted in school also focused on the memory of students rather than focusing on whether the students have understood the topic or not. Since, I had good memory power, I performed well in my early school days. However, as I moved into middle school, I found it extremely difficult to understand the topics, since I focused only on learning the facts. I realized my mistake later and began understanding the ideas and concepts , instead of remembering the facts. If I had not adapted my ways to give more importance to concepts and ideas, I would not have been able to perform well in my academics.

Secondly, learning facts through rote method plays a negative effect in a student's learning and his/her character development. The ideas and concepts thought in academics usually have an implied meaning which goes into a student's subconscious memory. Hence, the student will gradually learn the important characteristics required to thrive in a society through the various topics taught in school. Take for instance, my cousin who was excellent in memorizing facts and received awards in various competitions aimed at using memory power. In contrast, his ability to understand social behavior was very poor, since, he had spent his childhood learning facts instead of understanding the ideas of the lessons taught in school. Later, he could improve his social behavior and failed to make a mark in any field of study, since, he could never understand the essence of any topic or subject. If my cousin had focused more on learning ideas and concepts, he would have fared better in his career.

In light of the above mentioned reasons, I firmly believe that students should be encouraged to understand concepts and ideas, rather than giving importance to learning facts.