Do you agree or disagree with the following statement: “It is more important for students to study art and literature than it is to study math and science.” Provide reasons and examples to support your opinion.

Most people agree, that math and science are important subjects and that art is not important, but I disagree with these beliefs. In my opinion, it is more important for students is to study art and literature. I feel this way for two reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

The first and foremost, as my art teacher always said “Art is a unique way to leave a mark after death”, and literature is a language of the soul. For instance, Who knows, how would we see this world without Vincent van Gogh, who showed us the beauty of the night through three colors and paintbrush? Furthermore, even now, after his death, millions know his famous picture “The Starry Night” and still discussing the artist’s works. In addition to art, there are thousands of talented artists, who can not only show their abilities through paintings but also through the dance, pottery, exhibitions, movies, TV shows, acting, giving speeches and etc. Consequently, ART is a wonderful way to touch people’s hearts and souls.

Secondly, writing about literature, which is one of the forms of art in which the word, language is a means of creating an artistic image. In addition, I want to mark that Alexander Pushkin, Fedor Dostoevsky, Charles Dickens, and Jojo Moyes changed my life. Those people showed me, how exact words can make changes in people’s lives. For example, in the “Crime and Punishments”, Fedor Dostoevski shows us how Soviet university students have been lived in small rooms, where actually even rats could not exist, but young people used to because only children of the richest people could afford good apartments and opportunities to study in High schools. To support these thoughts, I always think that my university, where I was taught is the most terrible university and did not like my dirty street, where I have been lived for 5 years. After this book, I found food for thoughts and realized how lucky I am, because I have a cozy house, parents who always support me, and of course choices to get an education.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that for modern people it is better to study art and literature, rather than math and science, because if we want to save our planet and lead a healthy life then we must communicate about beautiful things and creations, not about numbers and boring terminus.