Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

It is more important to keep your old friends than it is to make new friends.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

There's no doubt that friends are important to us anytime and everywhere. some people prefer to keep their old friends rather than making new ones according to the quote ''old is gold''. For me, i disagree with those people as i support searching for and creating friendship with many people and in this essay i will discuss my reasons for that support.

Firstly, making new friends means adding new sides to your character, new friends equal new minds and different experiences. People differs from each other in their way of thinking, in personalities, languages and etc.. For example, my old friends are my friends when i was at primary school and i know them , i can predict the way they are thinking and how they can affect me, so that i need more different minds that can also affect me positively.

Secondly, making new friends allow others, who don't have ones, to get involved in life, be loved and popular. For instance, when i was at secondary school, i knew a student that was introvert , a thing that made him alone all the time and no one wanted to be his friend, so i decided to be his friend and help him to step outside his circle and be extrovert. This had a very significant effect on his life and career afterwards.

Thirdly, many of our old friends aren't here for us, some have travelled abroad and others are so busy with their lives. It's not wrong to search for new friends to support you and stand beside you all the time and this is the definition of true friendship.

In the summary and to conclude my point of view, making new friend has significant benefits to our lives according to what a true friend means and it's important to keep searching for them all the time.