Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

It is more important for governments to spend money to improve Internet access than to improve public transportation.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Recently, there has been a ton of debate about whether the government should spend money to improve internet service than to improve public transportation. If I were asked, I would definitely suggest that government should utilize their money to make the public transportation better instead of spending money on improving internet access. I firmly believe this way owing to several reasons, and I will elaborate on this in the subsequent paragraphs.

To begin with, a better transportation will be significantly beneficial for the society. Improved public transports will encourage more people to avail public transports like bus, train etc. Moreover, they will be able to commute to their destination in comparatively less time. This would help them to save time to indulge themselves in more productive activities like gardening, spending quality time with families etc. Needless to say, the students will be most benefited out of it as they have to waste valuable time on traffic and specifically, during the exam days. In addition, having better transportation will help people specifically during emergency situation like health issues. My opinion on this matter is profoundly influenced by my own experience. You see, in 2010, on a friday night, my uncle had a heath attack and immediately we called the ambulance without any delay to get him to the hospital which was one hour away from our locality. But, unfortunately, the road condition was extremely horrible and there were more traffic jam over the road. As a result, the ambulance service was delayed and they reached our home almost after 2 hours of the call and that was the most devastating days for our family as we lost our uncle by that time. For this reason, if the transportation was better, we would have got some time to save his life by providing him a proper treatment.

Secondly, improving transportation will allow government to boost its revenue due to increased retail activities in that locality. Building more bridges, roads would allow that city to have better connectivity with nearby cities. Therefore, business men would prefer to use these facilities to tranport goods. In addition, it would also encourage them to set up a new shopping malls, hotels near the express ways. As a result, they would pay the taxes which would add up extra income for the government. Drawing from my own experience, five years back, the kalyani express way connecting Barackpore to airport was constructed near my locality. As a result, many people including me started using this road leaving out the old congested one as it would hardly take 30 mins to reach airport from my home. Eventually, many shopping malls and dhabas were constructed by the side of the express way, which allowed people to spend some time there and relax with some food during some hectic journey. It is certainly clear that investing money to transportation will benefit the government in many ways.

To sum up, in the light of the above mentioned points, I think its is more vital that government invest their money more to improve the public transportation rather than spending those on making internet access better. This is because both the public and the government will be benefited out of it.