Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

It is more important to read or watch news presented by people whose views are different from your own than it is to read or watch news presented by those whose views are similar to your own.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer

With no doubt, people all around the world hold diverse outlooks toward various topics. Some members of society think that they should gain their awareness from the sources that have similar opinions with them, while others feel that it is imperative to know how the opposite sides think and act. As far as I'm concerned, it is more useful to watch and read the news sources related to the other point of views than ours, due to improve our patients and critical thinking.

First and foremost, listening to different opinions could enhance people’s tolerant. As a matter of fact, usually, people carry a preconceived perspective toward various subjects, for their whole lives and they cannot endure any contradictory points of view. Needless to say, being to exposure of opposite viewpoints, people can practice to be more flexible and tolerable. To elaborate this more, my father always, can stand other conflict arguments and opinions. Thanks to watching converse news channels on the TV, he embraces discrepancies heard and seen by others. This example demonstrates how watching and reading the opposite-side news could be lucrative for becoming patient.

Moreover, gaining a variety of information either from unanimous news channels or contrary ones, people can have an opportunity to provoke their curiosity to search for the real and trustworthy facts. Ultimately, they can change their mindsets and dismiss their prejudiced. For instance, in the last presidential election, I had decided to vote for my candidate. However, after watching various opposed news channels which their contents were about the infractions that my candidate had committed during his lives, I searched for the truth. Consequently, I altered my decision and voted for the opponent. Without watching those channels, I had no chance to find out about the reality.

To recap, I strongly believe that converse opinions are worthwhile to be considered. It can augment our endurance to stand conflicts. Also, it brings about an incitement to search for the truth.