It is more important to read or watch news presented by people whose views are different from your own than it is to read or watch news presented by those whose views are similar to your own answer.

In modern times, due to the rapid evolution of technology, the media is an integral part of our life. It provides people with information about local and global events, politics, economics, social issues, and so forth. Without a shadow of a doubt, it is common knowledge that the media is not always objective and unbiased, and the news is often presented with a slanted interpretation of certain ideologies or political viewpoints. Some people advocate that it is more important to read or watch news displayed by people who have different views. Others maintain a contrary view that it is unnecessary. While these ideas have their bases, they need to be scrutinized meticulously. In my opinion, thinking out of the box and accepting other perspectives have profound influences. In the subsequent paragraphs, I will elaborate on my viewpoint through two compelling reasons.

First of all, reading or watching presentations by people with different views can broaden one's horizon on current events. Exposure to diverse information helps us gain a more comprehensive understanding of complex issues, and also helps prevent individuals from being trapped in an echo chamber of their ideas. For profit, tech companies set subtle tricks to lull susceptible people into addiction, for example, algorithms tend to prioritize content that aligns with one's existing beliefs, and many people stay in their comfort zones and wallow in unconscious scrolling without noticing it. After forming the community of the same viewpoints, the companies start to promote their products that fit their certain needs, and people in this community would spontaneously contribute their salaries to the pitfalls. However, by seeking out opposing news from different sources, individuals can challenge their assumptions and develop vigilance toward the world around them.

Moreover, from a standpoint of mindset, accepting different views also enhances our critical thinking skills. When confronted with others' opinions that contradict one's existing knowledge, people are forced to engage in a more critical evaluation of the information and learn to introspect themselves. For example, my father used to be a huge fan of TikTok which is a well-known video platform in China. Every day he would spend at least one hour scrolling the screen browsing unconsciously because the algorithm showcased a huge amount of absurd regimens like eating hot pot in summer is detrimental to health, drinking alcohol on an empty stomach increases blood circulation, eating vitamin supplements is more important than eating fresh foods, and so forth. He could not help himself to order things that the application recommended to him. However, after experiencing his impulse purchases, he was really disappointed and realized the products were not as perfect as the companies boasted in the advertisement, and even cause other health problems. I told him to use search engines and follow the doctor's orders. Hence, he never buys things like this ever and starts to verify the authenticity of every piece of news and information that he receives, and saved a bunch of money to devote to truly valuable things like horticulture and calligraphy, and even has obtained a better body.

More or less, people do have this common sense but it is still hard to always maintain objectivity in real life, especially when they are in an unstable mindset, and holding an emotional tendency towards others. Some people may even choose to fit in cliques because they think it is a more powerful way to consolidate their beliefs. Nevertheless, blocking different viewpoints and keeping oneself in a filter bubble may polarize their ideals and make them small insight and arrogant, or even antagonize different groups, extreme insularity is like a stagnant pond without fresh water, the barrier would become insurmountable, and leading to much severe aftermath.

Just like the book In a Grove written by Japanese writer Ryunosuke Akutagawa, the story centers on the death of a young samurai whose body was found in a bamboo forest. The preceding story unravels with a series of testimonies given by seven people. And the story also has become an idiom in japan to signify a situation where the truth remains hidden due to different statements that are attributed to people's own interests.

Listening to different sides is the best way to not be torn by biased interpretations from different people, and to approach the kernel of truth.

Therefore, reflecting upon all reasons mentioned above, it is more important to read and watch the news from different perspectives and exerts more positive influences on their future in a myriad of facets. While there are one thousand Hamlets in one thousand people's eyes, I believe my opponents will compromise after reading my article.