Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

It is more important to keep your old friends than it is to make new friends.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

While old friends may have created more memories and stronger bonds with us, new friends may be able to help us to have wider vision to the world that we live. Therefore, I do not agree with the statement that keeping old friends is more important. Instead, I believe that keeping old friends and making new friends are both equally important.

Losing our old friends may be one of the painful thing in our life. Since we usually have created a lot of memories with them, and offered a great deal of support when we feel hopeless in our teenage time. Take myself for example, I have a friend who's name is Ian, and we have know each other for almost ten years, since we were in high school. When we were in high school, we often did stupid things together. Thus, every time we were being punished, we knew that we were not alone and punishment became less scary to us. Now we are grown up, we still hang out sometimes, and now we are giving life advices to each other. I believe many of people have a relationship like me and Ian, and losing this kind of friend could bring considerable of grief for us. Therefore, keeping our old friend is one of the important thing that we care in our social life.

However, though keeping old friends is important, making new friends could help us to have wider vision to this world. Because different people may have different background, the way that we understand this world may be really different as well. And having new friend could help us avoiding the blind spot while we are thinking. For example, me as a person who has careful and thorough personality, I may not be willing to take the risk. Nevertheless, making new friends who have completely opposed personality may help me to think in the way that I have never thought of before, though we may fight sometimes. Hence, making new friends could bring us considerable benefit as well.

In conclusion, despite old friend may have heavier weight on the friendship scale, we should not give up on making new friends. Since new friends could help us understanding the world in a more comprehensive way.