Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? It is more important to keep your

old friends than it is to make new friends

Friend and friendship carry many meanings with themselves, such as love, help and mental support. Confrontation of new and old, especially about friends, seems controversial from ancient times until the modern era. From my perspective, keeping old friends and trying to find new ones is the best choice. Nevertheless, according to the question, keeping old friends could be more beneficial for two main reasons:

Firstly, old friends know themselves like the palm of their hands; indeed, it is crucial because they know how to treat each other, answer each other's needs, and finally, how to back each other. These items are vital for genuine friendship. For instance, when I failed the konkur exam, I became depressed and anxious because I did not know what I should do for my future. Besides, I had tried hard for that exam, and I did not succeed. However, my close friend arranged a memorable trip to turkey and surprised me with that. As a result, my mental scars healed well. The critical point of this example was the trip; because I was crazy about traveling, and my friend knew that well.

Secondly, trust is an essential factor in every relationship, and it will not be built unless in the course of time. Furthermore, old friends can gain advancement by means of trust; since they can talk about their problems and secrets to each other simply without any worry. New researches have shown that friends who know each other for more than five years are more honest with each other than those who are fresh to each other. Besides, those who have long-term friendships are at a lower risk of different kinds of mental disorders such as depression, anxiety and schizophrenia; because they have someone to talk to and interact with comfortably.

In conclusion, according to the mentioned reasons, I believe that long-standing friendships are more precious than recent ones for two reasons. First, they know each other quite enough to figure out how to treat each other under any circumstances, and second, their relationship has an important factor named trust, which has been built over a long period of time. As a result, I suggest that keeping your old friends and making an effort to find new good ones.