Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

It is more important to keep your old friends than it is to make new friends.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

I agree with the statement that it is more important to keep your old friends than it is to make new friends. The saying, "Old is Gold," totally implies here. It is important to value and maintain your old friends than it is to make new friends for many reasons. Firstly, they know you well and are always ready to help you. Since you have been friends for a long time, they understand your situations and help you in your difficult times. You can always count on them. For example, three years ago, during the monsoon season, I was stranded on a deserted street with no means of transportation. I called my childhood friend who stayed five miles away for help. He got there as quickly as possible and gave me a lift. That made me understand that you can always count on your old friends when the going gets tough. Secondly, they are great company when you want to de-stress. You can always rely on them to help you rejuvenate when you are exhausted. Even a small amount of time with them helps you relax. For example, when I have had a hectic week at work, I call my old college friends over for dinner on the weekend. Spending time with them and recalling our old days helps me relax and have fun. Sometimes when they are not in town, I call them up and we have long video calls which also serve the same purpose of refreshing me. Thus, being in the company of your old friends is always a great way to de-stress.