Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

It is more important to keep your old friends than it is to make new friends.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer. Be sure to use your own words. Do not use memorized examples.

Friendship is one of the most important relationships seen in human beings. People make friends at any step of their life. They make friends at school, college, workplace, and supermarkets. Some people maintain this relationship for life while others find it difficult to maintain friendships. I agree with the statement that it is more important to keep old friends than make new ones. I will explore my reasons in the following paragraphs.

To begin with, some people are introverts, meaning that they are shy and thus, find it difficult to make new friends easily. So, they maintain their relationship with old friends, with whom they feel comfortable. I would like to give an example of myself. I am a very shy person. So, when I entered senior college, none of my friends were in the same college as me. I had a very hard time going through senior college. I used to meet my best friend after college every day because she was the only person who could understand me. She helped me go through my senior college.

Furthermore, I think it is more important to maintain old friendships than make new ones because we have known our old friends for a long time. We trust them with our issues. We know that we can rely on them in case of an emergency. We have built a strong relationship with them all these years. Building trust and relying on someone takes a lot of time. So, when we try to make new friendships it is going to take us a lot of time to build such a strong friendship as we have with our old friends. Besides, isn’t it obvious that we should value and give importance to our strong old friendships more than make new friends? If we neglect old friends then we will lose an essential relationship in our life. Also, what is the guarantee that the new friends we make are going to stick by us and not deceive us? I mean we do not know them yet. On the other hand, we have known our old friends much better and we are sure that they cannot deceive us.

In conclusion, I think that friendship is one of the most beautiful and crucial relationships in the life of a person. It is important that we value and keep friends with people who have been our friends throughout our lives.