Do you agree or disagree with the following statement It is more important to keep your old friends than it is to make new friends Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer

Friends are an important part of an individual's life, some are even considered to be family. While some people are of the opinion that only old friends should be maintained, others think that it is beneficial to make new friends also. I completely disagree that one should not make new friends. I feel this way for two reasons which I will examine in this essay.

First of all, friendship is a pure relation and increasing your social circle helps you to enhance your social life. Evidently, one who has a good number of friends has more people to share their happiness as well as sorrows. In fact, it is natural human behaviour to interact with people and understand them. So, making new friends is like a natural instinct in human behaviour. For instance, if you join a new college/school you are not familiar with the new faces. Clearly, if you don't interact with new people they might think of you as you are arrogant and rude. In my case, at first, I only had three friends when I joined college. As time passed, I made a lot of new friends which helped me increase my communication skills and helped me in personality development.

Second, if one has a limited number of friends then it is possible that if you want to share something or you are in an emergency then they may not be available at that moment. Obviously, if your friend circle is bigger one can come in handy at a critical time if another is not available. This is best demonstrated by my personal example. Once I met with an accident on my bike. Though the people around at that time helped me stabilize but as it was a major accident they rushed me to the hospital. At that time my family was out of town so I had to contact few friends. As I called some of them either were not answering or some were not available at the moment. Since I had a good amount of friends some of them came to take care of me. I am sure that if I had not had a large friend circle it would have been difficult for me to face this critical situation.

In conclusion, I am of the opinion that one should make more good and trustworthy friends. This is because increasing your friends helps you develop as a better person and because more friends can prove helpful to you in the time of need.