Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

It is more important to keep old friends than it is to make new friends.

Whenever we face a adversity in life we turn to friends. Whenever we face a serious problem in life we turn to fiends. Whenever we want to have fun we call our friends. So basically, friends are very important in life and we should make a lots of friends and treat them well. Its not a question of how many friends we should have, keep 2-3 friends but friends which will be there for you whenever you need them. So, I think it is more important to keep old friends rather than to make new ones.

Many a times we forget our old friends in an attempt to make new ones, the ones who are temporary friends. Temporary friends are usually the ones which come in our life very late and those who remember us only when they face a hard-time. They are not available for us when we face hardships in our life. They give us reasons for not being there for us. Such friends are temporary and not the worth of our friendship. Instead of giving our precious time to such new temporary friends give that time and efforts to our old friends, which you have known for a long time. This will definitely make difference.

I had very close friend in my childhood. We were too close, totally inseparable, then we went to college, same college. I started to look for new friends, started to hang around many different boys. Due to this I was unable to meet my old friend from childhood, and we drifted apart and now we barely talk to each other. And the irony is that the boys for whom i used to ditch my childhood friend are not even my friends now. They just used me as a temporary time pass and now i am left with no friends.

Making new friends, having a very big group is very tempting specially in our youth years. We see many such groups and feel envious of them. But look at the same group after couple of years, those who once used to be in a same group, those who looked cool and totally inseparable now dont even remember each others names. Its just a sad truth of this harsh world. Prefer quality over quantity. Prefer good old friend less in number, even a single true old friend is more precious than thousand new temporary fiends.

So, the conclusion is that, it is more important to keep our old friends than to make new ones. I learnt it the hard way, but i dont want you to be as stupid as me. So cherish your old friends, give them your precious time, hang with them, talk with them and definitely help them as much as you can when they face hardships in life.