Do you agree or disagree with the following statement It is more important for students to study art and literature than it is to study math and science Provide reasons and examples to support your opinion

In modern society of today, it is vital for students to study academic as well as non-academic subjects. However, I believe that math and science are the most important subjects and it is important for students to study them as opposed to studying art and literature. The two main reasons for this will be examined in the following essay.

To begin with, math and science can be helpful to students in the future when they become adults. Obviously, art and literature can add to your creativity but it is not necessary that creativity would help in your everyday life. On the contrary, math and science include topics that we observe and interact with in our daily life. I have to say that my opinion on this subject has been deeply influenced by my personal experience. During my schooling years, computing simple and compound interest was an important topic in the mathematics curriculum. At that time I did not understand the need for computing such interest, but today I understand its importance. Eventually, because of these topics, I am able to understand the interests computed on different types of loans, which saving scheme I should invest in, etc. Further, if these topics were not taught to us in class then I would have never understood which loan or which saving scheme would be best for me. Thus, studying math and science should be the main priority of students.

Secondly, subjects such as math and science channel your brain, and students develop a habit of analyzing complex situations with ease. Students are in their embryonic stages of learning and if they engage themselves in learning subjects like calculus or understanding how different organic compounds are formed, this in turn would improve their cognitive thinking of students. Recently at John Hopkins University, research was conducted wherein two groups of students were created. The first group was only taught art and literature while the second group was taught math and science extensively. When the thinking ability of both the groups was tested, it was found out the second group excelled. The way they analyzed and reacted in complex situations was way better than the group who were taught art and literature.

At the heart of the debate over studying math and science lies the question: Is studying math and science of more importance than studying art and literature? Subjects like math and science can teach important life lessons and can also improve the cognitive ability of young minds. Consequently, studying math and science is very crucial for students.