Do you agree or disagree with the following statement:

It's better to make friends with intelligent people than with people who have a good sense of humor?

Friends are people with who we have a close relationship and spend most of our time. Thus they play essential roles in our lifeAs friends play essential roles in our daily life. A question might arise is that what characteristic is most important when making friends. . Some think it is better to make friends with intelligent people. Personally, I am of the opinion that people with sense of humor is the better choice. I feel this way because of two reasons which I will discuss in this essay.

First of all, spending time with people with a sense of humor can help to release stress. As we all know, people nowadays have to deal with different kinds of pressure in their daily life, such as work, social connection, family issue. They are prone to suffer from stress and anxiety. Therefore, they need an outlet. Humorous friends can be a good choice, because they can always find a way to entertain others. For example, when I graduated from college, I tried to find a job. However, all the available positions were quickly taken. I was so stressed out that I avoid talking to anybody. Knowing this, my friend Jack came over immediately and tried his best to cheer me up. After a while, I felt relaxed and more confident. I am sure if Jack had not come, I would not be able to make it.

Second, people with sense of humor always put others first. As I mentioned above, they always try their best to entertain others. In contrast, intelligent people usually think of themselves first. In other word, they are more likely to be selfish. For example, I used to have a clever friend in high school, who was always at the top rank in the class. Once, I asked him for help with my math because I got difficulties in understanding calculus. Being afraid that I would do better than him, he refused. Therefore, I think humorous people are better choice for friends.

In conclusion, I am fully convinced that it is better to make friends with people who have sense of humor. This is because they can help others relax and because they are less likely to be selfish.