Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Most advertisements make products seem much better than they really are. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Nowadays many companies provide advertisements in many ways such as TV, newspapers, and YouTube. They use various ways to make products seem much better than they really are so that customers feel inclined to buy by seeing their advertisements.

First of all, in many cases, advertisers don’t provide all the information needed for the customers to decide whether they buy or not. They hide some disadvantageous facts about their products. For example, the other day I and some of my friends were talking about a newspaper advertisement by a bicycle shop. In it a new model of a crossbike was introduced, and the ad emphasized the lightness and the comfort ride of that bike. And we are curious about that bike and searched it on the Internet. Then, some reviews say that it got broken easily. As we can tell from this example, some ads don’t introduce their products’ negative aspects, so we should depend not only on advertisements but also on reviews by customers.

Secondly, some companies trick customers by making use of optical illusion. Even some of the most famous cosmetic companies also use such techniques. For example, they often broadcast advertisements on TV. They provide images of examinees before and after using the item advertised. They emphasize the difference of these two images, but when we look at them carefully, the background colors of them are totally different, and this will definitely have impact on how we perceive the image.

Finally, imaging techniques have been innovated very much. Companies make use of this when making advertisements. For example, nowadays I see many advertisements of food companies on YouTube. Many of them looks so delicious, so if the audience are hungry, they are sure to click the website to check the details.

To sum up, most advertisers don’t provide us with enough and accurate information about their items. Most of us are likely to be deceived by wise techniques they use to make us feel like purchasing their products.