Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? The most important goal of education is to teach people how to educate themselves.

Some people think that the most essential goal of education is to educate people on how to teach themselves, while others disagree. For me, I agree with the statement. My reasons are as follows

To begin with, one of the goals of education is to teach students knowledge, and teaching people how to self-teach themselves helps them become more knowledgeable. Take my friend Todd as an example. Todd was a self-taught programmer, and he learned various programming knowledge from Indian Youtubers. Also, he acquired numerous coding techniques by interacting with open-source engineers on Github. Therefore, even though he was still 19 years old, he can answer 80% of questions asked on Stackoverflow. That is, his knowledge level of programming languages is probably higher than most full-time engineers. On the other hand, my brother went to college and study computer science. His algorithm professor, Mr. Lieu, set up a strict agenda for his students to follow. However, his professor’s schedule was too difficult to follow. To be more specific, Mr. Lieu required all students to complete no less than 20 pages of algorithm problem sets every week, but these problems are so difficult that each of these problems may require three months of research and investigation. Eventually, my brother could not catch up with his professors, and he had problems absorbing algorithm skills and knowledge taught from that course. Evidently, according to Todd and my brother’s experience, I am confident that self-learning helps students become more knowledgeable.

Secondly, education should focus on students’ health, and letting students learn skills by themselves makes them healthier. For instance, my friend Linda went through a high-pressure education in Taiwan. Her parents required her to go to English and Physics cram schools nearly every day. Not only that, her math teacher assigned more than 4 math worksheets per day. Therefore, she usually slept less than 5 hours every night. In addition, her constant unhappiness made her get depression and schizophrenia. In the long run, her physical and health condition was so worse that she had problems distinguishing between reality and fantasy every so often. Contrarily, my aunt allowed my cousin, Ken, to self-teach himself. So whenever Ken felt exhausted, he could take a short rest. Similarly, he had the opportunity to stop learning when he felt sick or despondent. That is to say, he did not need to worry about schoolwork, such as not being able to finish his homework. He had a healthier body and mental health compared to Linda.

In conclusion, I maintain that teaching people how to educate themselves is extremely vital because the advantages outweigh the disadvantages.