Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Movies and television have more negative effects than positive effects on the way young people behave. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

It is an era of meida where public has easy access to movies and televisons. Complaints arise that teenagers have indulge themselves in watching multimedia. As for me, I strongly stand for this viewpoint that movies and television have more negative effects. The detailed reasoning will be as followed.

First and foremost, multimedia is so appealing and attractive to young people that teenagers can be easily addicted to such “digital drug”, consequences of which could be hazardous and threatening. Teenagers are undergoing a crucial period during which their personalities and characters have not fully developed. If watching time are not restrited, youngsters can be drowned in this meaningless entertainment which designed purposely to draw attention from public. The phenomenon of "sofa potato" is not rare in many modern families where parents and children argue all day long about televisions. Some may even break out a fierce fight at the mere mention of no allowance for watching TV. In fact, such tragedy will not only impair physical and mental health of the youth but pose tremendous threats to the family relationship as well.

Furthermore, dangerous and porny scenes in the film and drama series could induce the young generation to mimic the seemingly cool acts of the casting. Report has it that inappropriate movie watching can be one factor resulting in imitation of crimes happening among juveniles. Take the example of my neighbour's son, who is a huge fan of criminal films. The tragedy took place when he followed the instance of one hero in his favoratie films where two gansters fought for the honor of brotherhood. Unfortunately, he was sent to hospital due to loss of blood, which was a huge cost and added to the finacial burden of the entire family. That nowadays movies have not been carefully categorized and lacking reasonable supervision and guidance can impede the value system and personality building of teenagers.

Nevertheless, a voice arises that knowlege could be absorbed via multimedia. Ironically, the information and knowledge provided in the TV programmes is sometimes misleading and fake, which will interfere with the learning. By contrast, reading is far more efficient in assiting young people in gathering information and learning useful information.

In a nutshell, given the current situation of film industry, negative influences of movies and television outweigh the positive ones.