Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

“Movies and television have more negative effects than positive effects on the way young people behave.”

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

It is no doubt that teenagers nowadays spend more time watching TV than doing the outdoor activities. Skeptics claim that watching television affects negatively the youth’s behavior. However, I believe that it is a two-side impact instead of negative impact alone.

First of all, the TV channels benefit the teenagers if they are used reasonably. It is certainly the fact that the lack of information in the 21st century is unacceptable. Nowadays, toxic information could intrude every single house without a warning in advance via the advertisement, commercial letter, or just simply echoing from the street outside. To cease this wave is impossible. However, it is unfair to blame every problem on the movies and television without acknowledging its interests. For example, the world today observed a great transition in the language reallocation. The globalization had conquered almost the world and the demand of using English as a global language came afterward. As movies meets its obligation in both reflecting a global culture and creating an appropriate condition to learn English, it poses a critical question for parents to assess properly the values of this kind of entertainment. By imitating the celebrities’ accents, teenagers could easily break the shy of speaking a strange language, which is considered the hardest stage of learning foreign language. Besides, this method helps reduce the burden of tuition on parents. Hence, the benefits of television and movies should be reconsidered carefully.

On another aspect, the negative effects are a group of factors associated with practical context, not the results from the television alone. The advocates doubt about the role of parents in educating their children. According to a new research, one over four interviewed confess that they are spend more time for working than with the children. “It is the problem of financial status”, they said. People always place their blame on something else and the duty of being parents is actually a burden but they have to judge themselves before criticizing other factor such as television. Since “the world needs a hero but not all heroes wears cape”, parent have to play a crucial role in their children’s development. Besides, the rise of the internet is a significant element that distorts the youth’s moral standards. On the dark side of the internet, it is the opportunity poisoning the innocent souls by racism, terrorism, and misguided sexual orientation. For example, without parents’ control, adolescence could easily go astray into pornographic website then easily suffer the consequence of distorted sexual behavior or even worse become a pedophile. It is, not TV but the internet, should be responsible for poisoning the youth’s behavior. Since there are more dangers rising from the internet, movies and television are no longer the most toxic factor for our adolescence.

In conclusion, I believe that nowadays TV channels have more positive effects on young generation behavior than before. We have to prepare ourselves a comprehensive view on this kind of entertainment’s benefits instead of judging without any consideration.