Do you agree or disagree with the following statement One can learn about another person from the books and movies that the person likes

Human beings have extremely complicated behaviors; hence, gaining deep knowledge about the individual’s attitude is really difficult and nearly impossible. A controversial question here is that whether movies, books, and other materials which people follow can help us to know them or not. Personally, I believe that human is a complex creature; so, the media are not effective to gain enough information about them. To support my opinion, I will elaborately discuss the idea in the following paragraphs.

First and foremost, the psychological behaviors and opinions of the human, this amazing creature full of complexity, are unpredictable. Every day numerous research papers are publishing that inform us about various unbelievable features in humans that amaze us extremely. So, humans are so complex and have various aspects of characteristics. If we suppose that we can know someone by just looking at his/her interests, it is meaningless. I believe that this complex creature is not as easy as a book or movie. A disadvantage of inferring people from his/her favorites is that it does not give us a comprehensive vision of all personality aspects. On the other hand, I agree that one should have a long communication with a person in order to realize his/her idiosyncrasies.

Another worthwhile reason is that people usually are interested in movies and books that are not very similar to their reality because it is more exciting and helpful for them. In other words, maybe the type of books that someone study is correlated with his/her hidden preference or his/her failure. I think the judgments about one's personality based on his/her favorite movies are not reliable. One drawback of such judging is that our judgments may be based on false evidence. Therefore, it is not trustworthy. For example, my friend, Jina, really loves romance novels, and most of the time, she reads and reviews famous love-story books such as Romeo and Juliette. Nevertheless, she is really unfriendly in her relationships and prefers to remain in her shell without any socializing. Surprisingly, when she broke up with her boyfriend, I did not see any sorrow in her feeling because leaving people for her is completely easy. Although I supposed that she must be a really romantic girl before close communication with her, after more socializing and experience, I understood that she is not like her favorite books. It is a fact that false evidence leads to false conclusions. So, favorite books and movies are not always reliable pieces of evidence for the conclusion. On the bright side, I am confident that there is no way to give valid information about people except socializing.

To sum up, although someone’s interests are considerable clues to predict his/her behaviors and preferences, I think it is not a significant way for achieving information about people due to the fact that they are more sophisticated than something we suppose. Moreover, maybe people behave differently from their outer picture; therefore, I do not judge someone with the first glimpse. The inferences about someone's traits based on favorite materials are not reliable enough. Actually, a long time is needed to know individuals’ characteristics deeply.