Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

The opinions of celebrities, such as famous entertainers and athletes, are more important to younger people than they are to older people.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Nowadays, there are a lot of sources for people to obtain knowledge and build one's own perspective. Some believe only in scientific reports and the doctors, while some believe in significant figures in the society. There is a saying about how the opinion of celebrities, like well-known entertainers and athletes, will have greater impact on younger people than on older people. From my standpoint, I also agree this statement. The reasons are as follows.

Firstly, the fact that most young people now often go on internet is a great contributor to this phenomenon. As those advertisements of famous people are always on our cellphone, it's hard for them not to leave the impression in our mind. Take myself for example. I once was really into running. At that time, I happened to see the video about a famous runner who just won the first place in the international race, in which he kept promoting the shoes he wore. Since that advertisement constantly popped out on the screen, at the end I couldn't help it but bought it. In contrast, since my mother doesn't surf the internet as much, she always listen to the advise from the shop owner to get a pair of shoes.

Another reason for this is because celebrities can sometimes be the significant others in teenagers' minds. As the entertaining industry blooms, all those entertainer now can be considered as a new form of success. To teenagers, they will tend to find a role models among them and see his or her words as treasure. From my personal experience, I used to mark down every meaningful lyrics in the songs of the band, Mayday. Each of them really encouraged me a lot. I still see them as a major influencer of my life as those words always give my the impetus to move forward. While for my parents, they see this as childish. They would rather prefer if I memorize more from some classic literature.

Maybe the reason for entertainers and athletes being a rather insignificant source for old people is that old people are still too conservative. They see the new form of influencer inferior. In their standpoint, it would be better to seek opinion from people in each profession.

In all, the phenomenon, that young people more appeal to the opinions of celebrities, may be resulted from the prevalence of internet among younger generation and the increasing impact of those people to teenagers. Also, it may be that the elder generation is too conservative. Thus, I agree with the statement.