Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Overall, the widespread use of the internet has a mostly positive effect on life in today’s world.

With regards to the massification of (Internet is a proper noun, always capital I) Internet usage and its consequences, I think that the Internet has not provided a positive effect on life in today’s world.

First, the massification of social media websites and apps, such as Instagram and Facebook, have created an online community that exposes people to the lives and stories of others. While this may at first seem to improve our connection with friends and family that are far away, in today’s world it created a culture of constant comparison to the successes and failures of others. For example, a report on teenage eating habits found that teenage girls that spend more hours on social media have a greater chance of developing eating disorders such as anorexia nervosa.

On the other hand, the opportunity to express your opinions anonymously on the Internet has also facilitated online-bullying. People are less worried about consequences when they are not face to face with the person they want to aggravate, so in turn they are even more relentless when harassing someone. This has enormous consequences in today’s world, where the cases of death by suicide are continually rising. For example, in America 20% of suicides are related to cases of online bullying.

Finally, websites and social media have exposed users to great amounts of fake news, which in turn leads to confusion and conflicts. For example, in Chile, the social conflict that erupted in 2019 was an event closely followed by different news sources, including the Internet and social media. In this critical situation, many chains of text citing false information were shared over Whatsapp, which exacerbated the polarization of different social classes.

In conclusion, the widespread use of the Internet in today’s world has a mainly negative impact, creating opportunities for body image issues, bullying and misinformation.