Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

In the past it was easier to identify what type of career or job would lead to a secure, successful future.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

It’s hard to deny that in the past, there were so few job that could lead to successful career. And such fact may mislead ingenious people to form the opinion that it was easier to identify the job to lead to secure and successful career in the past than today. However, such a fact suffers from both logical and factual fallacies and it should be reconsidered meticulously. As far as social stability, career insight and competitive level of job are considered, I hold the view that nowadays, it is easier for people to identify the potential secure and successful job than in the past.

First and foremost, the social and world in which we are living nowadays is undoubtedly more stable than in the past. The better stable living condition provides us with more available and accessible occupations. The thriving market place provides more probability for the jobs which are considered as insecure like archeology to gain popularity and thus succeeding. That is to say, the way to be successful is not limited to the certain types in the past. We have all access to succeed.

Furthermore, the level of career insight has been increased dramatically due to the progress of average level of education. In the past, most of the people chose their career because of the force from their family and parents. So, if the average education level of their family is not high, they probably have to be the worker which have been replaced due to the great advancement in technology. However, we have more wise and democratic families nowadays, that is to say, we can choose our career more freely and our family will instruct us with their experience and knowledge.

Nevertheless, a voice arises that in the past we don’t have to consider so much about the future because we always know what is secure and what is most likely to succeed. When we reconsider this statement in a prudent way, we will find it extremely ridiculous.

In a nutshell, I maintain that it’s easier to identify the potentially secure and successful jobs nowadays than in the past. Admittedly, some people may oppose my opinion. However, as what Henry Bessemer once said, he had no fixed ideas derived from long-established practice to control or bias his mind, I believe they will compromise after being exposed to my article.