Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? In the past, young people depended too much on their parents to make decisions for them; today young people are better able to make decisions about their own lives.

Without a doubt, good decision-making can guarantee every individual's future life. Today, I think many young people make decisions independently rather than relying on their parents. I feel this way for two reasons, which I will explore in this essay.

Firstly, technology has developed a lot and let people access a wide variety of information. As a result, young people can find much practical information by searching on the internet without limitations. As a result, whenever people want to make a decision, they can search and find useful data through many websites, which leads them to make a rational decision. Thus, young people are less dependent on their parents and make their own decisions independently. For example, some years ago, I wanted to choose a major to study at university. At that time, I explored many websites and found many different views of the possible fields of study. I read about the pros and cons of every major, and eventually, I decided to study mathematics based on all the data I had gathered. If I had depended on my parents to make a decision for my future studies, I would have never been able to choose the best major for my career.

Furthermore, nowadays, most parents try to do their best and raise their children as well as possible. Therefore, parents attempt to learn about growing up children by increasing their knowledge so they are aware of the importance of raising an independent child. It is because their children can build their own life with fewer problems in the future and rely on themselves rather than anybody else. My personal experience is a compelling example of this. As far as I can remember, my parents have tried to teach me how to be independent and responsible for my own life. For instance, as a five-year-old girl, I had to decide what clothes to wear instead of my parents. Although there were some occasions when I needed their advice to make decisions, most of the time, they encouraged me to make my own decision. As a result, when I grew up and faced many choices in my life, I could easily deal with them and make the best decision in different situations. For example, I decided which job to find based on my desire instead of asking my parents to choose.

In conclusion, I think many young people can make decisions independently rather than young people in past generations. It is because of the development of technology that helps people to find various information. Also, parents are more aware of the effect of being independent and try to raise their children with this personality.