Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

In the past, young people depended too much on their parents to make decisions for them; today young people are better able to make decisions about their own lives.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

People possess different opinions about whether the youth should make their own decisions. Some people state that the youth lack of experience to decide, while other people contend that young people should be responsible for decision making. In my perspective, I disagree with the statement that young people should make decisions of their own in modern society based on the following reasons.

First of all, the ability of independent thinking is not well developed during young age, which may cause the youth to make decisions without thinking clearly enough. For example, I had to choose my major when I was in high school. To be more specific, our school provided three categories of fundamental courses based on the student's future career plans. Facing my first major decision, I simply copied the decision of my friend because I wanted to gather together with them. However, my parents stopped me and they helped me to analyze my future potential. Without them, I could not find my interest and became an engineer later on.

Second, the development of the internet makes our society full of information, it is prone to happen for young people to be influenced by unreliable data sources. For instance, my cousin dreams to be a model in the future. To pursue her dream, she is eager to find some related jobs during her summer vacation. A mysterious company sent her an invitation for a job interview from social media on the internet. Although she wanted to grab this opportunity, she discussed with her parents before making decisions. In the end, they found out that it was an illegal organization which committed to kidnap young people.

To sum up, as mentioned, young people are not able to think independently and they can not distinguish the information in this modern society. They may make decisions that are influenced by their surroundings or they may be cheated by the criminals. That is the reason why I strongly disagree that young people are better to make their decisions without parent's advice.