Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? In the past, young people depended too much on their parents to make decisions for them; today young people are better able to make decisions about their own lives. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Decision making in the past is used to made by parents. In modern era, however, as the ideology of self-independence is spreading among young people, a lot of people believe that young folks can make decisions by themselves. While I do agree with the statement that young people are now less dependent on their parents to an extent, I do think that the answer depends on different scenarios which will be illustrated in the following paragraphs.

First, when it comes to the enrollment to schools, I think that the decision of choosing which school to study is still rarely made by students regardless the change if times. The reason is that students are mostly young, causing parents to regard their children as immature. Therefore, it’s unlikely that students get a chance to choose their school. Another reason which I believe is more practical is that most students are not financially independent, which means that their parents still have absolute dominance when it comes to choosing a school. After all, it is them who pay the tuition.

In contrast to choosing school, there’s still positive progress having been made. Take marriage for example. In earlier times, where the interest of a family was on top of that of a person, it’s normal that a marriage is decided even before a child is born. As for now, the inheritance isn’t the mainstream anymore. Young people such as princess Harry, who quit the royal membership in order to marry Megan, are taking back the right to decide their own marriage.

Lastly, there’s also something that has always been decided by young people, that is, making friends. Parents may control the friends their kids make, but all they can do is to an extent because it’s not possible for parents to follow their kids all day in school just for this reason.

To wrap it up, I think the trend of the society is shifting towards the younger generation in terms of the right of making decisions. Nevertheless, in the current state, I do believe that young people is still very dependent on their parents in some circumstances.