Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? People benefit more from traveling in their own country than from traveling to foreign countries. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

There can be varying opinions regarding whether a person would benefit more from traveling in his own country or from traveling abroad. I firmly believe that it is more advantageous to travel in one's own nation due to several reasons which will be elaborated in this essay.

First and foremost, the culture of a nation and its history must be well known to a person especially one who has enough resources and the will to travel. Knowing about the diversity of the people living in a country and their lifestyle, traditions, major occupations, historical monuments and their influence on the nation itself is crucial for a citizen to be aware about. As a responsible and politically and historically aware citizen a person should visit not just the famous monuments and tourist attractions in their nation but also the ones which are culturally significant and lesser known. For instance, when I was a child I travelled to a historically significant places known as Humpi and Badami in the Karnataka state of India where only people with interest in the history of India visit. There I came to know about the vast expanse of an old empire which had built thousands of stone carved temples with so much details that many stories from the epics of 'Mahabharata' and 'Ramayana' were carved out of single stones hundreds of years ago. Most people do not visit this place because it does not act as a tourist spot which provides entertainment options to attract people. But my family got a chance to physically see the wonders of the past and the history connected with them.

Secondly, it is important to support the tourism industry of one's own nation by visiting places in the country rather than visiting foreign countries only. As the daily bread for many families depends solely upon the tourism industry in many countries citizens should regularly visit even those places which do not offer much options or are expensive and posh. This will help the economy of a country by bringing up the per capita income above the poverty line. Also this will make sure that a considerable slice of the country's valuable money is contributed towards the income of some people leading to more economic equality and a better future for the tourism industry families. As these families are stuck in the vicious cycle of poverty they do not have the opportunity or the resources to access education and a chance at a better life or even a better tourism service. Therefore, in-land tourism will help achieve better tourism standards and also increase the literacy rate.

Thirdly, the standards of the tourism industry when improved due to the reasons previously mentioned will attract people from foreign nations and also more people would be attracted towards the world heritage sites in a country if the overall service quality of the industry is improved. This will have deep positive effects on the nation's political and economic condition. For instance, the seven wonders of the world tend to attract large foreign populations to their home country which helps the local economies improve along with foreign relations due to the good and polite hospitality provided.