Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? People communicate with each other less than in the past because of the popularity of television. Use specific reasons and examples to support your opinion.

Television has served as a catalyst for social changes over the past few decades. It has evoked many changes in the way we behave, or the way we communicate. However, I opposed to the idea that People are communicating less often than in the past due to the advent of television. I will explore my opinion in the following sentences, offering examples.

Firstly, we are talking all the more often than before thanks to television. This is because we can get new pieces of information much more quickly and more widely than before through television. Television can offer brief breaking news. When I was in elementary school, I used to talk with my friends about a series of animation. We could share experiences, which ignited our communication, preventing me from being alone in the class.

In addition, television can kindle the relationship in a family. My personal memory serves as a compelling example of this. All of my family members used to gather when we took breakfast. During the meal, we watched a news program on television and discussed the domestic and international affairs. We continued this custom until I enrolled in university and started single living. This experience, which was very beneficial itself, have made me adept in critical thinking. What is important is that we can share the time while watching the screen. Therefore, television functions in a way that stimulates our talking.

Finally, television can connect people who live far away from each other. I have a pen pal from my childhood. He and I talk about stories from Disney channel from time to time. We do not share the same mother tongue, but the contents we watch on TV are broadcast in various languages in many cases. That was why we are still in contact. Drawing from this experience, we can say that television can inspire communication between people from all over the world.

For these three perspectives, I totally disagree with the opinion that people talk less than before due to the presence of television.