Do you agree or disagree with the following statement Physical exercise is more important to older people than to young people

Health has long been one of the hotly debated topics on societal issues. There are multiple approaches to keep ourselves in good nick. It is controversial that either young people or old people are more proper to do physical exercise. In my view, physical exercise is of equal importance not only for the elderly but also for the younger people, especially those white-collar workers, being exposed to prolonged sedentary behavior.

First of all, compared with the aged people, younger people like desk-bound laborers lack time to take physical exercise. The aged people who are already enjoying their retirement life are more likely to have a chance to stretch their bodies at a park downstairs. However, the time these workers spend on exercise is limited since they have to work during the day. In China, for instance, some workplaces adopt a“996” schedule, meaning that a workday begins at 9 in the morning and ends at 9 in the evening, and constantly work for six days a week. Six days are workdays in a given week. Under such a burdensome schedule, needless to say, workers are already physically and mentally exhausted. But their need for exercising is still there, which is even more pronounced amongst young people. It is extremely hard for them, who are already exhausted by their intense workload, to squeeze exercise into their tight schedule. Therefore, physical exercise is more urgent for this group of people.

Besides, young people, being constantly in a poor state of intense competition and pressure, are more likely to suffer from physical and mental diseases. The study, conducted by World Health Organization (WHO), revealed that the age at which cancer is diagnosed is getting younger, meaning that cancer in young adults is rising. And further investigations state that the number of lung cancers amongst people under 45 increased significantly over two decades. The most contributing factor to this is smoking, which is highly related to anxiety and other negative moods. And doing exercise has been proven as an effective method against depression and mental diseases. Thus, the young generation really needs to take physical exercise regularly.

Finally, the younger generation that lacks exercise awareness needs more exercise. Older adults with certain medical conditions at a young age learn the importance of staying healthy, so they stick to exercise as part of their daily routine. However, young people may underestimate the value of physical exercise. This is mainly because they may think they are still young and do not need to pay attention to their health. However, it is too late to become aware of the disease.