Do you agree or disagree with the following statement Playing computer games is a waste of time Children should not be allowed to play them Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer

It is hard to deny that addiction to computer games would indeed detach people from their time commitment to regular work and study, which leads impressionable people to generate the view that computer game is nothing but a waste of time. However, such a statement suffers from logical and factual fallacies, and it should be examined meticulously. As far as social utility, interest stimulation, and exercise promotion are concerned, I firmly hold that the benefits and positive aspects computers provide are worth considering.

First and foremost, computer games can bring social utility, as many games have positive social messages that encourage children to be a force for good. Meanwhile, games with broad appeal easy to grasp can also help families play together and better bridge the gap between generations, like young kids can play games alongside their grandparents. Not to mention that so-called serious games, specifically designed to teach and inform, also impact the world. Some teach kids about real-life issues, humanitarianism, and the practical challenges facing governments and private organizations today, and some teach kids about the benefits of good manners. These games have better educational effects on kids than in traditional expressing ways.

Furthermore, the fact that computer games somehow stimulate players' interest in learning more about relevant fields indicates that playing computer games can be a meaningful experience. For example, I became interested in Greek and Rome history after playing a computer game named Assassin's Creed. It is a game using actual historical events to drive its stories, and the characters and the places adapted on the actual histories of ancient Greece and Rome can then spark my interest in discovering more about these cultures. Had it not been for playing this game, I would never get the chance to know the fascination in histories and develop interests in them.

Nevertheless, a voice arises that playing video games increases children's health risks, including obesity and shortsightedness. Ironically, today's motion-controlled games help players get a healthy combination of physical and mental exercise at the same time, and children are glad to find a more approachable way to stay physically fit. While many introvert children keep themselves away from exercise because they see it as an anxious activity, computer games are fun and entertaining for them to enjoy physical activity. Therefore, computer games' effects on promoting exercise are considerable.

In a nutshell, I maintain that computer games can and do have remarkable benefits for children once they are played appropriately. Admittedly, as my favorite quote from Penelope Fitzgerald goes, it is interesting to note everyone has a different take on the world, a different opinion, and given the same inputs have completely different outputs, and some people may oppose me. However, I believe they will compromise after being exposed to my article.