Do you agree or disagree with the following statement Practice and hard work are more important to an athlete s success than natural ability and talent Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer

Hearing the success stories of athletes, one often pays more attention to how they strove for them and is less interested in what god has granted to their bodies. Shows featuring medal winners often tell such stories as how their parents grabbed them from their cozy bed to go exercising at dawn in their childhood. During interviews, they bring up the time and effort they put in daily training to keep prepared for games at all times. Most would believe practice and hard work play key parts in an athlete’s career, instead of natural ability and talent.

No one becomes an athlete without practice, let alone being successful. Kids don’t know whether to choose sports as a career in their early childhood. However, through actual sports activities, either for recreation or matches on campus, they grow some interest in sports and pursue their dream sport. After that, they gain confidence from further practicing and playing in more professional games, thus deciding to pick sports as their job.

Without hard work, the success of an athlete won’t last long. Regular practice helps athletes keep their muscle memories. Without it, injuries become inevitable, which would declare their career a sudden death. Also, there may be occasional adjustments to game rules, and rivals’ techniques are constantly evolving. To keep up with such rapid changes, continuous practice is indispensable. Otherwise, an athlete would fall behind soon.

Sole natural ability or talent won’t suffice, since there are various other difficulties which they cannot cope with. Sports is no stable career. It does not bring an ideal job security. Athletes used to have high casualties in Ancient Greece. Nowadays, they also face lots of risks. Injuries are inevitable. Gangs may kidnap them for ransom or competition manipulation. And accidents may occur on frequent sports travels. As their age accumulates, the possibility of losing their job for poor performance increases because of the gradual decline in their strength. Hard work helps them focus on games and eases their worries on instabilities. As a result, they become strong-minded and immune to terrible failures or unwanted yet drastic changes in their life.

A pilot on duty for a commercial airline has to take at least one flight in any 30 days, or a cumbersome bootstrap re-training is required to pick up. Athletes may get various benefits from their natural ability and talent, but to push such gifts to their limits and keep them in a good shape for games needs countless effort and a rather strong heart. Throughout the fast-paced success story of an athlete, practice and hard work are never absent.