Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Today’s media (TV and online news sites, for example) offer a lot of information on many topics, but people do not use this information to really learn something thoroughly and in depth. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Media has evolved a lot. The invention of television makes live broadcast with pictures possible, and through online news sites news are delivered in an interactive way. We are overwhelmed with topics, informations and viewpoints, but they are pulling us away from learning something thoroughly and in depth.

In the past era, you grab a pack of tissue and some magazine or newspaper from a convenience store, and read the news while sitting on the toilet. Whether to carefully read an article or just make a quick skim through the headlines is up to you. You learn about what has happened at your own pace. However, TV and online news won't let you enjoy that kind of freedom anymore. Shows and news streaming platforms keep feeding everyone the same thing at the same time. You have no say in what to watch. Text-based online news sites are notorious as well. You either hesitate on which one to click facing a screen full of titles with underlines, or are frustrated at interesting contents locked behind paywall. Instead of quickly locating nice articles for thorough reading, you are fed with shards.

Local news establishments used to play important roles in our deep understandings of the communities we live in. We might have heard little about what had happened overseas, but regional newspaper brought us the things around us in a convenient way. Unfortunately, in no way at all could those small ones compete with international giants. As a result, we all have some vague impressions on the sufferings of Ukrainian people caused by shellings, or the great casulty caused by the earthquake on the border between Syria and Turkey. But we might not hear about the car accident yesterday just 2 blocks away, which, for the sake of our own driving safety, should have been learned immediately and in depth.

Today's media takes patience away from you. Their profit model has changed from the selling of individual copies and subscription packages to revenues from advertisements and cooperations with providers of certain products or services. The presence of news contents are merely the wrappings of a trojan horse, with ADs and other distractive popups sitting inside. Eye-catching titles keep draining our attention. Content providers rely on recommendation algorithms instead of the quality of articles to attract viewers. It would be absurd if anyone still expects to actually "learn" something from them.

Today's media indeed brings us a new variety of choices. It conveys ideas in more vivid forms, and informs us of matters happening far away, at low or even zero cost. However, more and more biased views emerge due to their controversive profit model and cooperations with third parties. Media has gone far away from pieces of paper where we can easily learn something thoroughly and in depth.