Do you agree or disagree with the following statement Practice and hard work are more important to an athlete s success than natural ability and talent Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer

Hearing about a successful athlete, one often pays more attention to how they strove for them and is less interested in what god has granted to their bodies. Shows featuring medal winners tell such stories as how their parents grabbed them from their cozy bed to go exercising at dawn in their childhood. During interviews, they bring up the time and effort they put in daily training to keep prepared for games at all times. Anyway, most would believe practice and hard work play key parts, instead of natural ability and talent.

No one becomes an athlete without practice, let alone being successful. Kids don’t know whether to choose sports as a career in their early childhood. However, through actual sports activities, for either recreation or matches on campus, their interest in sports grows and they begin pursuing their dream sport. After that, they gain confidence from further practicing and playing in more professional games, thus deciding to pick sports as their job.

Without hard work, the success of an athlete won’t last long. Regular practice helps athletes keep their muscle memories. Otherwise injuries become inevitable, which would declare their career a sudden death. Also, rivals’ techniques are constantly evolving, so continuous practice is indispensable unless one is ok with falling behind soon. In addition, there may be occasional adjustments to game rules, efforts are required to get accustomed to them.

Sole natural ability or talent won’t suffice, since there are various other difficulties which they cannot cope with. Sports is no stable career. It does not bring an ideal job security. Athletes used to have high casualties in Ancient Greece. Nowadays, they face lots of risks as well. Injuries are inevitable. Gangs may kidnap them for ransom or competition manipulation. And accidents are likely to occur on frequent sports travels. As their age accumulates, the possibility of kissing sports goodbye for poor performance increases because of the gradual decline in their strength. Hard work helps them focus on games and eases their worries on instabilities. As a result, they become strong-minded and immune to terrible failures or unwanted yet drastic changes in their life.

A pilot on duty for a commercial airline has to take at least one flight in any 30 days, or a cumbersome bootstrap re-training is required to pick up. Athletes may get various benefits from their natural ability and talent, but to push such gifts to their limits and keep them in a good shape for games needs countless effort and a rather strong heart. Throughout the fast-paced success story of an athlete, practice and hard work are never absent.