Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Providing Internet access is just as important as other services, such as building roads, so governments should offer Internet access to all of their citizens at no cost.

It is axiomatic that in this progressive and sophisticated world where we live, human beings have been accustomed to gain a lot of information from every corner of the world. In this regard, technologies play a significant role to convey information to people. While many individuals hold the opinion that governments have to provide infrastructure and free access to the internet for citizens, on the other hand, many people believe that it is not a necessary action for countries. As far as I am concerned, I agree with the former opinion and my reasons to substantiate my point of view are presented in the following paragraphs.

To begin with, due to the advance of technology in recent decades, the internet becomes the most critical part of every society. To be more specific, devices based on the internet are inevitable sectors of humankind. Consequently, governments should spend a huge amount of their budget to make it easier for people to connect to the world wide web. Since the costs of living in contemporary times raise into the sky, countries can devote money to technology which is really essential for society. If the government does not help people to stay connected to the internet, people will lose this opportunity to gain valuable information and knowledge, which is really embarrassing in 21 century.

Furthermore, it is crystal clear that many jobs lie on the internet in modern periods. Online taxies, doing household works, daily services, restaurants are examples few but not least. As a result, the majority of people's career requires to be online 24 hours. So as governments have to allocate money to the communication sector; especially, the internet and online services. An example can drive this notion home. A few years ago, in my county, the government decided to reduce unemployment in the country, so they took advantage of researchers and experts to investigate the reasons why online occupations were unsuccessful. Ultimately, these experts suggested to the government to provide the internet freely in order to encourage them to use online services. As a result, after a few years, unemployment went down and the economy flourished.

To warp it up, having the aforementioned reasons and points into account, I do believe that countries have to devote money to provide the internet for free because people can gain information through it easily and also many jobs depend on the internet.