Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Providing Internet access is just as important as other services, such as building roads, so governments should offer Internet access to all of their citizens at no cost.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Connection to each other is an important factor of human life. Humans are social animals, Hence, no matter where we are we tend to try connect with each other. As a result, there have been discussions about wether it is better to offer network access and internet connection to citizens at no cost. In my view, There is a need for all citizens to have access to internet free of charge.

First, some people cannot access in person education. Some people may have medical issues preventing them from leaving their houses or may live in environments that have a hard time accessing an education center to help these people have better education it is essential to have free internet. For example, during Covid-19 pandemic there were many people that couldn't leave their houses, furthermore, there are many children in remote villages with no access to educational facilities, and poverty prevents them from leaving their homes and living in a place with better facilities, many such children have to give up higher education due to their situation. Free internet access can allow these people to access online courses fixing the problem. as you can clearly see free internet access can have a big impact on the citizens education.

Second, mental health is an important issue for everybody. When away from home and under financial pressure, connecting with our family and friends sustaining no costs, allows us to feel less lonely and depressed. For example, when Mahse, a friend of mine migrated to another country she was very lonely and was under a lot of stress due to financil issues. Mahsa explained that she would cry every night for six months and was going through a phase of depression. This went on until she had access to internet allowing her to connect with her family she said that this connection allowed her to feel a lot better and she felt happier. I believe there are many others with such an experience. So, by providing internet free of charge these people can connect with their loved ones allowing them to lead better lives.

In conclusion, I believe it is essential to provide free internet access to all citizens. Because free internet access can gauranty better education and mental health.