Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? The rapid growth of cities has a mostly positive impact on the development of the society. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

In this progressive world, there is a surge of city-growth all around the world. This trend has diverse effects on societies like a double-edge sword. In my opinion, generally this unexpected growth's rate of cities has more negative impact on our societies rather than positive ones. In the following essay, I will elaborate on my view.

To begin with, uncontrolled cities' growth affect the environment negatively. To provide enough land for building houses and other infrastractures, most of the cities intrude to the natural fields; such as wild life inhabitat, natural landscapes and other necessary environmental resources and destroy them. For example, In my country, egypt, in all big cities included capital of country and states capitals, people has made their building on the outskirt of the city without considering that they must respect environment's rights. Because of this human invasion, nowadays, we suffer from lossing vegetation, soil errusion, and climate change in those cities. These dire consequences have made life condition very hard for all residents in those cities, regardless they take care of nature right or no. Had people taken the right decision about the citys' growth plan, we would had seen acceptable living condition in our cities.

In addition, in metropolitans people suffer from many diseases, which they root from overpoopulation as well as endless growth of cities with their disastrous condition. Cities' facilites such as streets, parks, governmental offices cannot grow with the population's expansion. As a result, there is always a big gap between demand and supply in this need. For example, in most big cities in the world, the shortage of communication ways, bad quality of air, crowdness and heavy traffic pose many drawbacks in daily life, which end up having many physical and mental illness in people. In our country's capital, Cairo, we see an increasing number of patients with lung diseases. Histric and mental illness is growing up too. Ministry of health announced, if the govenment do not plan to control the growth of cities, we will encounter surge of lethal health problems in near future.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that rapid and huge growth of cities pose negative impacts on cities more than positive ones. This is because infrastructures cannot meet people essential needs and because uncontrolled growth casue people suffer from diverse illnesses.