Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Smoking should be banned in all public places.

Smoking is a hazardous activity. This is preached by everyone, including the government and the companies that manufacture it. But many people are addicted to it and this leads to a lot of health related problems for them. Smoking does not bring about any goodness in anyone's lives. That said it is a choice that a person makes whether to smoke or not, but the consequences of their smoking should not be bared by others. So in my opinion smoking in pubic places, like beaches, parks, restaurants, hospitals should be banned.

The main reason why I feel it has to be banned in public places is because of passive smoking. Passive smoking is when non-smokers are affected by the smoke from the cigarettes. Although smoking is a choice, no one can force the other person to quit smoking or to start smoking. Similarly people who don't smoke should not be affected it. Smoking in pubic places does exactly this. The air we breathe in is common to everyone. If one person pollutes it, someone nearby is going to be affected by it for sure. Active and passive smoking are both dangerous and lead to lung cancers. being exposed to cigarette smoke once is not going to give cancer but being exposed to it repeatedly, on multiple occasions will have serious repercussions. Even though a person has decided not to smoke they can be equally affected by smoking. According to medical surveys passive smoking is very dangerous to pregnant ladies and elderly people. A governmental ban will be very helpful in this case because not everyone is bold enough to stand up against a smoking person and ask them not to smoke there.

Active and Passive smoking lead to a lot of health related problems like cancers. Cancers have no cure untill now. Considering statistics if a person smokes in a public place he/she is more likely to infect a lot of other people than when smoking in the privacy of their homes. Like I said before smoking is a choice so what a person does behind closed doors should not be of interest to anyone. But spreading disease to others is a serious matter. In a country like India, there are no proper facilities for cancer treatments and the cost of medicines are also very high. So if many people suffer from the misdeeds of others it will also cost the country on an economical level. To make the world free of unwanted disease like cancer it becomes very important to make sure that the effects of smoking don not affect the non smokers who are large in number.

When people smoke in public places, they might not find proper areas to dispose off the cigarette butts and may just throw it on the ground. Recently a picture of a bird feeding a cigarette-butt to it's child was released. This happened on beaches. It is not just humans that are affected by smoking but birds and animals too. When a certain animal or species is affected, it will lead to problems in the food chain and cause lots of environmental problems.

On the whole, smoking in public places affects non-smoking humans, birds, animals and causes a lot of environmental destruction. It does lead to many diseases for which no cure has been found. Government intervention is very necessary at this point to ban smoking in public places. But as I said smoking an only be banned in public places not in private areas.