Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Students are more influenced by their teacher
than by their friends. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.
Since the dawn of human beings, learning has played a significant role in people’s lives. No one can turn
a blind eye to the enormous effects of learning a new knowledge on our daily lives. There is a heated
controversy as to whether students are more influenced by their teacher or by their friends. Some people
may hold this viewpoint that students learn many things from their teacher and use them in their life.
However, some others may take an opposite point of view and believe that friends have more impacts on
somebody’s life. I, for one, firmly believe that the former perspective makes sense, which says that effects
of someone’s teacher on him or her, without any shadow of doubts, outweigh their friends’ effects on
them. There are quite a few reasons why I subscribe to this idea, three of which are separately elaborated
upon hereunder.
One of the reasons coming to my mind at first is that teachers are more experienced as well as eligible
than students. An empirical study in Iran shows that the Iranian teachers’ eligibility are examined in many
psychological, scientific, and physical ways, to name but three. With this in mind, there is a Persian
proverb, the equivalent of which in English may sound like this, “Teachers show you how to be in the right
way!” This saying clarifies the fact that a teacher can teach a student how to act and behave in his or her
life, for teachers experienced many ups and downs in their “teaching life” and have seen many students
and their behaviors in their classes over time.
Another equally remarkable point in corroborating my stance is that teachers know juveniles’ needs and
know how to quench their thirst for adventure in a safe and constructive manner, for they once were
juveniles like their students. Moreover, teenagers want to take risks and experience new things which can
be hazardous to them. By so doing, they may jeopardize their well-being and may frighten their parents.
In other words, one’s friend can incite him or her to do something by which they can endanger their whole
life. As a result of which, teenagers know that their friends can propel them towards danger. Therefore,
they listen to their teachers rather than their friends.
In conclusion, by taking into account all the reasons mentioned above and many other ones, as far as I am
concerned, students know that their teachers are experienced as well as wise like their parents. Therefore,
in my opinion, students are more influenced by their teacher than by their friends.