Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Students are more influenced by their teachers than by their friends. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

It is well said that a person can develop or degrade his/her personality just by the company of people he/she chooses to spend time with. I demur the statement that students are influenced by teachers than by their friends due to multiple reasons.

It is the friends that a person would spend most of his/her time with and it is their company which would directly affect how he/she reacts or behaves. Some students who have harsh and bitter backgrounds like divorced parents or frequent quarrels in family generally have a tendency to feel dejected and have a wall of hatred created around them. It is the friends who support them and help in overcoming the hatred buried deep in their hearts.

Similarly, when a child is separated from his/her guardian for the first time stepping in school, he/she might be very scared. Even though the teacher would console the child for temporary separation, it is the friends that make the school more interesting and influence the actions of the child. They bring motivation and encourage each other to attend school just for the reason to meet each other. Students sharing same age get attached to the emotions that accompany the enjoyment they discover in regular activities like sports, studies, etc.

Students do require guides and teachers to mould their paths and correct them whenever they falter but the influence that teachers have is minimal when compared to that of friends. For example, a psychology students meets another student who is doing her major in sociology. They both start hanging out a lot to discuss variety of subjects and start building interest in each other's studies as well. This bond would not have been established had they been a teacher and a student of different majors.

A person is influenced more by peers than by teachers due to time they spend together and the bond that they establish which over course of time brings them closer like a family. Teachers do guide students related to their studies or a better path selection but they are more like their guardians and thus establishment of a close relation is almost impossible. Since close people would have more influence than a person with whom you are not much acquainted with, teachers are not able to gain more control over students' actions or decisions as compared to their friends.