Do you agree or disagree with the following statement Students do reading by their own personality is as important as or more important than reading assigned by teachers

Books are the ladder of human progress. From ancient times to present, the sages left us a lot of works to read. We may just read books that interest us or assigned by teachers. In my opinion, I think both two statements are important for us students.

First, reading books we are interested in makes us know one field more deeply. If we are interested in a field like biology or arts, we will actively want to know more knowledge relevantly, because interests and curiosity will motivate us to learn more. As a result, we can keep digging into this field until we are satisfied. For example, when I were in primary school, I came across the poster for the costume contest from my arts teacher’s power point. This competition is for junior high school students actually. However, I am so interested in costume designing that I went to read plenty of books about how to design clothes and photos from the annual fashion show. At the end of the semester, I gave my art teacher a collection of fashion designs all made by myself. Although it could not be compared with works of those major students, teacher still spoke highly of my ideas and designs, and encouraged me to consider continuing studying this major in the future. Thus, reading books on our interest is the best teacher than anyone.

Second, reading books assigned by teachers are also important since it will broaden our horizons. The books assigned by teachers may not be in the area of our original interest, and if the teacher does not assign them, we may never read it. Specifically, China’s ministry of education has stipulated 100 books that high school students must read, covering astronomy, geography, biology, psychology, philosophy and arts etc in 2010. By reading introductory books of various fields, students learn more comprehensive knowledge and determined the direction they are really interested in. According to statistics, college students’ satisfaction with their choice of major has increased by 50 percent from 2010. In a conclusion, if we don’t read books assigned by teachers, we may miss the chance to do what we really love with narrow vision.

To sum up, reading books we are interested in is as important as reading books assigned by teachers.