Do you agree or disagree with the following statement: Success is defined by the amount of money someone earns.

People disagree on the definition of real success. Some people believe that success could be defined by how much money a person makes. However, I think level of success is not determined by one's income. I feel this way for many reasons which I will explore in the following essay.

First, one could be successful in many different ways. Some people are very successful because they started a company from the ground up and now they are making huge amounts of money. Other people are successful because they completed a highly respected academic degree. Although scientists do not make as much money as a businessman who established a financial empire, both are considered successful. One example from real life is my friend and me. I chose to go to school and I got a Pharm.D in pharmaceutical sciences. On the other hand, he dropped out of college to establish his own business. He managed to make a fortune even before I was able to graduate. After graduation, I started to work as a pharmacist as I wished and he continued overseeing his company. We were both seen as successful by our friends even though it was two different types of success. In my case it was academic, and in his it was financial.

Second, success is subjective overall, which means it's only the individual himself who could decide if he or she is successful or not. It's more about inner satisfactions with one's accomplishments. People may consider someone ahead of the game, but they do not have that feeling themselves. For example, when I graduated from pharmacy school, a lot of my friends assumed that I would be very delighted because they thought this was a tremendous achievement. On the contrary, I did not see getting this degree as a massive step forward because I was more ambitious to do other things.

In conclusion, money is not the most accurate measure for success. This is because there are other kinds of success where people do not earn a lot of money, but still contribute significant value to the world. On top of that, being successful is not an objective characteristic as it sometimes wholly depends on the person's perception of their own deeds.