Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Teacher were more appreciated and valued by society in the past than they were nowadays. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Some people may think that teachers were more respected and appreciated by people in the past because of several events happened today. For example, there were some news that students assaulted their teachers with words. Actually, in my opinion, I think that teachers are still highly respected and loved by students and society. There are several reasons for me to explain it.

First, some people think that students in the present do not show enough respect to their teachers; nevertheless, I consider that students still respect their teacher and view them as friends. Take me for the example. My biology teacher in the senior high school was young but she taught well. We students adored her very much and showed much respect for her. Actually, we viewed her as our friends and chatted with her often.

Second, not only students but also their parents consider that teachers always do their best to teach students. For instance, when I was the senior high school student, the school usually supplied some advanced courses for us to improve our knowledge at night. At that time, several teachers were responsible for these courses while they did not complain this policy. They thought that it would be beneficial for students. Therefore, our parents felt touched that teachers sacrificed their leisure time for their students.

Finally, the salary of teacher was so high because the society views teacher as a significant and difficult job. For example, the teachers can earn over fifty-thousand dollars per month when they just become teachers. It is surprising that the average salary is only forty-thousand dollars per month in Taiwan. Therefore, the high salary of teachers reflects they are highly appreciated and respected.

In conclusion, for these reasons mentioned above including the attitude of students and their parents toward teachers along with high level of salary, teachers were loved and respected not only in the past but also in the present.