Do you agree or disagree with the following statement A teachers ability to relate well with students is more important than excellent knowledge of the subject being taught Use specific reasons and examples to support your opinion

The learning and teaching process also englobes an appropriate environment with students and teachers relating respectfully and well. Although this good relationship is important, I strongly refute the idea that teacher’s ability to relate well with students surpass the importance of excellent knowledge. I fell this way for the following reasons.

Firstly, if teachers do not pose high level of knowledge the students will not be able to learn effectively, consequently, they will not excel high grades at school or at university. Besides, they will not have knowledge enough to develop critical thinking, broad conceptual ideas and special skills, which are basic aspects of learning process.

Secondly, once these students become professionals, serious consequences may happen for the society. For example, if an engineer wrong plan a highway due to his lack of knowledge or skills, terrible accidents and a lot of deaths may happen. Furthermore, the lack of qualified workforce would promote nefarious impacts on local and global economy, which could lead to starving, unemployment and increase in overall prices.

Finally, it is known that the most reputable educational institutions around the world have great faculty members with high knowledge, skills and curriculum. High knowledge stimulates the advance of science and new discovers, which impact the society directly. For example, the development of new drugs, treatments and all scientific discovers which impact our lives depend on excellent professors who teach students to excel their best skills.

To sum up, I strongly believe that although the ability to relate well is important, it is not more important than excellent knowledge of the subject being taught. Because, it is the driven force of learning process and development of skills necessary to society welfare.