Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Teachers should not make their social or political views known to students in the classroom.

It goes without saying in this era that we live, students spend much more time at school with their friends and teachers. While some people believe that teachers should express their political and social views in the class, others hold the opposite point of view. Personally speaking, I firmly concur with the latter group. To substantiate my view, two reasons are explored in the following paragraphs.

To begin with, Students consider their teacher as a role model and accept each thing that their teachers mention. Most of the students extremely like their teachers and want to imitate teacher’s behaviors and opinions, so if teachers do not enough knowledge about social and political subjects and tell their opinions, some students accept these ideas which, in turn, leads to mislead and make mistakes. For example, when I was a schoolboy, I like my teacher very much as a role model. One day, he told me that he thought that people do not participate in the upcoming election because it would be a complaint about unqualified governments. Then, I did not participate in the election and my favorite candidate did not get sufficient votes. So, now in my view, society’s state is worse than ever.

Secondly, expressing and telling irrelevant subjects in the class take much more time and, in turn, leads to wasting minutes. Therefore, there is not adequate time for the necessary lessons and topics. If the political and social views of teachers are not the same with the opinion of students, it will, in turn, result in discussion between students and their teachers and will take much time from the class. So, teachers have not enough time for useful things such as solving and checking students home works.

In conclusion, taking two reasons mentioned above into account, I do believe that teachers should not make their social and political views known to students in the classroom. This is because this work not only probably misleads students but also takes much more time that can be consumed for necessary education. (30 min)