Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Teachers should not make their social or political views known to students in the classroom.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Teachers' attitudes and manners have always been under the scrutiny of societies because they can have a pivotal effect on students’ personalities. Having considered this, many people think that teachers should not talk about their social and political perspectives in the class. On the other hand, others believe that teachers should not be impeded from expressing their personal views about social and political issues. I, personally, concur with the latter group for two conspicuous reasons that I will elaborate upon hereunder.

To begin with, in the sophisticated today’s world where we live, parents are preoccupied with a hectic life. Parents do not have enough time to talk about crucial matters such as social and political matters. In this situation, children will be deprived of gaining information and knowledge in this area. Therefore, if teachers talk about such subjects in the class, students give a chance of being familiar with different concepts about society and politics. To elucidate on, while being a student at school, I did not spend enough time with my parents to talk about the things above my personal life. However, Thanks to my literature teacher, which always was talking about important social and political objects, I got a profound understanding of the occurrences in my country and in the world.

Second, although it is highly probable that, teachers talking about personal viewpoints related to social events and political attitudes, make mistakes, they can encourage students to critically thinking and develop their intellectual abilities. Teachers who talk about their viewpoints, provide the class with a vast variety of discussions. In this circumstance, students urge to declare their own ideas and opinions which leads to reaching the ability to evaluate the pros and cons of different aspects of a given object efficiently. In the class mentioned in the former paragraph, I always thought about the discussions and tried to make a rational conclusion. As a result, I learned how to evaluate different aspects of potential questions and find the best answer.

Having the two aforementioned reasons into account, I do believe that teachers should not be banned to talk about their personal points of view related to social and political matters. In my opinion, not only can teachers make students familiar with social and political issues, but they also can improve the intellectual abilities of students to a great extent.