Do you agree or disagree with the following statement Teachers should not make their social or political views known to students in the classroom Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer

Whether teachers are allowed to make their social or political views known to students or not is always a complex issue that worth discussing. Although some people might agree the argument that teachers' social or political views could be known by their students, I strongly disagree this argument. Besides, I think that there should be related educational regulations. Here are some reasons why.

Firstly, I always stand on the side that classes should focus on teaching material. There is always a specific topic for each subject and the class should focus on that subject instead of other unrelated ones. I respect one of my history teachers in high school. History is the course that is most relevant to social or political issues, but my history teacher never showed her tendency. Conversely, she stated the historical events objectively, and this allowed me to treat those history fairly.

Secondly, talking too much about their social or political tendencies are sometimes annoying. As a student, I felt that the more teachers talk about the issue, the more resistant I felt towards that issue. I still remember that I once took a course related to international trade in my college, since this course can be related to international politics, our teacher just kept talking about his own political views. At the same time, the election of my country, Taiwan took place. The teacher directly told us which president we should vote for, but all the students felt annoyed. Besides, because of the teacher, we felt even more resistant toward the candidate he mentioned.

Last but not least, teachers are influential to all the students. They could change their students' opinions immediately, so I think that they should be more careful about their own words. Teachers should motivate their students to think independently instead of just telling the answers to them. Besides, there is no absolute yes or no for all the questions, such as the abolishment of death or the legalization of LGBT. There are a lot of great issues that are worth thinking and discussing. Schools are the best place for discussion, and teachers should not just show their own tendencies. After all, students need to be allowed to think independently.

In conclusion, some people might think that it is nothing for teachers to show their own social or political views, but I think this should be restricted. Till now, there are no relevant regulations, and I think our government should value this issue and reflect on it. Classrooms could be open for discussion, but how much and how far teachers should be allowed to talk is still worth discussing.