Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Teachers were more appreciated and valued by society in the past than they are nowadays. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

With the increasing emphasis on education, people's attitude towards teachers is constantly changing. There are questions as to whether advisors were more appreciated and valued by society than they are nowadays, some deem that it is true while others have negative attitudes. From a personal point of view, the above statement is disagreeable because of some reasons as below.

First of all, teachers now with professional backgrounds and profound knowledge deserve more appreciation as well as attention. To be more specific, whether in college or high school, it is easy to detect a number of high-quality tutors who not only graduated from excellent normal universities but also have specialized subject skills. With the abilities mentioned above, it is convincing that instructors could educate numerous brilliant students and gain achievements in their positions. As a result, advisors should receive more gratitude and attention since they make a great contribution to education along with their outstanding accomplishments. While in the past, teachers who taught at schools barely possessed comprehensive knowledge because they did not have an opportunity to accept professional training. Under these circumstances, the information they could instruct their pupils was also extremely limited so that it is difficult for them to be valued and appreciated by the whole society. Therefore, the community at present attaches more importance to instructors than before.

What is more, with the high emphasis of education in the whole nation, tutors should equally receive more concerns. It is widely acknowledged that the competition between countries in the future would be mainly for high-technology talents. In this case, more states now are willing to invest in schools to cultivate native experts. Counselors, as the most important part of a school, are particularly supported and cared for by the country. For example, due to the attention of the society to tutors, their salaries have been greatly increased in many areas, which also means that their social status has constantly improved. Moreover, Teachers' Day is on September 10th. People would celebrate this holiday and express their appreciation to the instructors who have worked so hard to give them guidance when they were young. Hence, the nation gives much encouragement to the tutors who have made great contributions to education.

Lastly, in the past, when the productivity was relatively low, teachers would not be able to obtain enough attention. A lot of children would join the work instead of going to school because their families were too poor to pay their tuition fees. From what was discussed above, education was neglected by many parents who would not listen to the opinions from advisors as well. Therefore, counselors were less valued by the nation in the past.

To sum up, from what has been discussed above, in modern society tutors would get more appreciation and attention than they were in the last century since both the country and themselves have contributed a lot of value to the education area.