Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Teachers were more appreciated and valued by society in the past than they are nowadays.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Whether teachers were more appreciated and valued by society in the past than they are nowadays can be weighed in many aspects. However, the claim is flawed because it fails to take every condition into account.

Admittedly, the statement appears to have considerable merits. Teachers in ancient days did possess more power than they do nowadays, at least in my country. Teachers had absolute power 3 decades ago in my country. During that time, teachers are the epitome of prestige, they could punish students with physical penalties such as hitting their hands or legs with thick wooden sticks when they did something inappropriate, and even parents would be thankful because teachers helped them correct their sons' or daughters' attitudes. But if teachers do the same nowadays, they will easily get sued and even lost their jobs due to the change in society's consciousness and law. On the surface, this might look like teachers' power was undermined and they are less appreciated by society, but this isn't real for all cases.

When we discuss of "teachers", the following come to mind: teachers in the early stages of education such as kindergarten or elementary schools, and teachers in the advanced academy such as professors. It's obvious that as the change in law and the public's awareness of children, teachers lose their power to punish students in the early education stages where the children are tougher to manage or bring under control, which makes them seem less appreciated or valued. However, it is not the same in the advanced academy. With the development of technology and the increment in the enrollment of college, the professor's role now becomes much more important than before. Since advanced education isn't mandatory in many countries, most of the students who come to university due to their own learning eagerness instead of fulfilling the national obligation, professors will receive more appreciation from students, as well as the society than before. In this case, we can't really judge whether the teacher's dignity deteriorates or not.

In summary, the statement isn't as persuasive as it stands. Although in the early stages of education, teachers appear to lose some power and be less appreciated, not all the teachers are the same. Teachers in advanced education such as professors in the university may earn more appreciation than from society they used to be. Thus, I fundamentally disagree with this statement.